How to delete a tweet from Twitter’s website or app

There are times when a user posts a tweet and later he realizes that there is an error or typing error in the tweet. Twitter does not allow its users to edit their tweets once they are posted. 

So the only option left is to Delete the tweet and create a new tweet after omitting the error from the tweet. 

There are also other reasons why people want to delete their tweets, maybe they want to remove a tweet that is offensive or maybe the users want to remove all their tweets to start their account new with different content. 

In this article, we’ll tell you how to delete a tweet from Twitter’s website or app.

Contents

  • How to Delete a Tweet Using Twitter’s Desktop Website
  • How to Delete a Tweet on the Mobile App
    • How to Delete a Tweet on Iphone
    • How to delete a tweet on Android
  • What happens when you Delete a tweet?
  • Can I Delete a Tweet From Someone Else Account?

How to Delete a Tweet Using Twitter’s Desktop Website


Deleting a tweet from your account using Twitter’s desktop website is an easy and quick process. All you need to do is follow the steps mentioned below.

STEP 1 – Open Twitter on your desktop and login into your account.

STEP 2- On the top left-hand side, there is a profile icon, click on it. And then click on the profile option.

STEP 3 – Find the tweet that you want to delete on your profile page. The tweet that you want to delete can be easily separated by tapping on it.

STEP 4 – Tap on the three horizontal dots located at the top right corner of the tweet. A drop-down menu list will appear.

STEP 5 – From the menu list, tap on delete, and then finally a dialogue box will appear asking for your confirmation to successfully delete it.

How to Delete a Tweet on the Mobile App


You can also Delete your tweet if you’re using Twitter on your mobile app. It’s just a matter of a few clicks and steps that are mentioned below.

How to Delete a Tweet on Iphone

To delete a tweet on your iPhone, go through the steps mentioned below.

STEP 1 – Open Twitter on your iPhone and login into your Twitter account using your credentials.

STEP 2 – On the top left-hand side, tap on your profile icon.

STEP 3 – Then tap on the profile option.

STEP 4 – Find the tweet that you want to delete and Tap on the three horizontal dots icon located in the top right corner of the tweet. A list of three options will appear.

STEP 5 – Tap on the delete tweet button in the list that appears.

Finally, tap on delete to confirm and successfully delete the tweet.

How to delete a tweet on Android

To delete a tweet using the mobile app on your android just follow the steps mentioned below.

STEP 1 –  Open the Twitter app on your phone and login into your account using your credentials.

STEP 2 – On the top left-hand side, click on the profile icon.

STEP 3 – From the menu that appears tap on the Profile Option.

STEP 4 – Find the tweet that you wish to delete.

STEP 5 –  On the top right corner of the tweet, click on the three horizontal dots icon.

STEP 6 – Simply tap on delete tweet from the Options that appear.

Click on Delete to confirm and successfully delete the tweet and if you wish to not delete click on Cancel.

What happens when you Delete a tweet?


When you delete a tweet, the tweet gets removed from your account. It gets removed from the timeline of the accounts that follow you, from the Twitter search results on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, and Twitter for Android. 

The Retweet of your tweet will also be removed from Twitter’s website and the Twitter application for iOS and Android.

The tweets data, content, and the associated meta links also get deleted once the tweet is deleted and no information is available about the tweet after that.

If someone has copied the contents of your tweet and pasted it to their own tweet then it will not be deleted. Also, if someone has commented on a Retweet of your tweet, their tweets will also be not removed. 

Twitter cannot remove the tweet if your tweets are posted on third-party websites, which means Twitter would only be able to remove the tweet from Twitter and not from any other websites.

Can I Delete a Tweet From Someone Else Account?


No, you can’t delete a tweet from someone else’s account, you can only delete the tweet from your own account. Although you can remove a Retweeted tweet that you have on your timeline.

You can remove the Retweeted tweet from your timeline just by clicking the undo the Retweet button. Remember, only the original owner of the tweet can remove the original tweet.

Faqs

You can delete any of your own Tweets from Twitter at any time. If you delete a Tweet, we will reflect your updated content on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, and Twitter for Android. Please note that you can only delete Tweets you have posted, you cannot delete Tweets from other accounts on your timeline.

– Go to the search tab at the bottom of the screen by tapping the magnifying glass icon.
– Tap the search bar at the top of the screen.
– Next to “Recent searches,” tap the little “x” to clear all search history.

Go into your account settings on Twitter, then select the “Your Twitter data” tab under “Data and permissions.” This will take you to a tab where you can download your Twitter data after re-entering your password. Once you have your old tweets saved for posterity, it’s time to start deleting.08-Aug-2019

You can make sure that the tweet never sees the daylight again and no Twitter user can ever read it. Now, this is true for as many tweets you want to delete no matter how old or new the tweet is. In fact, tweets are only permanently deleted on Twitter and once deleted there’s no way to recover the deleted tweets.

– Copy the Twitter URL you’d like removed from Google’s index (for example: twitter.com/#!/[username here]/status/12345678)
– Visit Google’s page to remove outdated content.
– Paste in the Twitter URL that you’d like removed.
– Submit your request.

– Locate the tweet you wish to delete.
– Click on the icon of three horizontal dots in the upper-right corner of the tweet.
– In the menu that appears, click Delete.
– A dialog box will appear asking you to confirm that you wish to delete the tweet.

Conclusion

Twitter does not allow its users to edit their tweets once they are posted. So the only option left is to delete the tweet and create a new tweet after omitting the error from the tweet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.