How to remove yourself from a twitter list

Twitter lists aren’t that much of a common feature – at least to most people. Maybe you just found out about them, too? Looking to know what a Twitter list is? Or maybe someone added you to a list on Twitter you want to leave it.

That’s exactly what we’ll be covering here so you’re pretty much at the right place. Let’s get right into it.

Contents

  • What Does It Mean to Be Added to a List on Twitter?
  • How to Find Out What Twitter Lists You Are On
    • Seeing the Twitter Lists You’re on Desktop
    • Seeing Your Twitter List Using Mobile App
  • Removing Yourself From a Twitter List
  • FAQs about Twitter Lists
  • Conclusion

What Does It Mean to Be Added to a List on Twitter?

To better answer this question, we need to first understand what exactly a Twitter list is. According to Twitter themselves, a list is simply a collection of specific Twitter accounts.

The collection is based on the type of content you – or any other list creator – wants to see on the timeline. It makes it so easy to access content from these accounts in one organized place without scrolling through your tweets feed or having to search for each account. 

So what then does it mean to be part of a list? 

It simply shows your content is interesting and whoever created that list wants to find your tweets alongside those of other specific accounts at the click of a button. That’s certainly a good thing. And you can always find out the kind of lists you’re on with a few clicks for both on the mobile app and web.

How to Find Out What Twitter Lists You Are On


Seeing the Twitter Lists You’re on Desktop

Follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to your Twitter account on your browser of choice.
  2. Check on the menu to the left side of your screen. Click on the “Lists” option just above the “Profile”. This will immediately bring you to a new page with various list options like “Pinned Lists” at the top and “Your Lists” right below it. All these will show the list you’re on that you’ve subscribed to.
  3. To see all the lists you’re on but you haven’t subscribed to, click on the three dots at the top right of the Lists page and then click “Lists you’re on”.

Seeing Your Twitter List Using Mobile App

Here’s how to go about it:

  1. Log into your account via the app.
  2. Click on the menu icon on the upper left corner of your screen.
  3. Tap on “Lists” right below the “Profile” option.
  4. This will bring up the Lists page. You can now see all the different lists you’re part of but this will be limited to those you’ve subscribed to/following.
  5. To see all the lists including those that you haven’t subscribed to, click the three dots at the top right of your screen and tap on the “Lists you’re on” option that comes up.

Removing Yourself From a Twitter List


After following the above steps, you might find out that you’re part of lists that just don’t appeal to you. In that case, follow the steps below to get off a Twitter list.

  1. Head over the Lists page to access the Twitter lists you’re part of.
  2. Click on the specific list you want to remove yourself from.
  3. At the top right of your screen, click the three dots.
  4. Select the option to block the Twitter account that created the list. That’ll effectively remove you from the list.

FAQs about Twitter Lists


Does Twitter notify when someone adds you to a list?

That’ll depend on whether the said list is private or public. Twitter only notifies you if you’re added to a public list.

Does Twitter notify a user when someone is removed from one of that user’s lists?

No. The user will find out on their own that you’ve been removed from their list if they check the accounts on it. If it’s large enough, they might never notice.

What does it mean to be added to a list on Twitter?

Being added to a Twitter list means another user has a special interest in your content. That user doesn’t have to scroll through the endless Twitter feed to see your content. He/she can readily view your content by heading over to the Lists page.

Do I have to ask a Twitter user to remove me from a list?

You don’t have to. You can simply follow the steps above and be done with it.

Also Read: How to Remove Followers on twitter without blocking

Conclusion

That’s it – you might find yourself being added on several Twitter lists. But you don’t have to be part of them if you don’t want to. Opening up the lists page and blocking the creator of that list works fine in removing yourself from a Twitter list.

Faqs

Contacts do not delete themselves. Blocking you would not cause the contact to be deleted. IF you are syncing your contacts with Facebook, and that person has unfriended you and blocked you on Facebook, it’s conceivable that the contact information was removed from your Facebook account and thus, from your phone.20-Jul-2015

Click on the Profile of the List creator. Click on the More icon next to the share icon . Click Block next to the profile handle (@HANDLE). NOTE: To remove yourself from a List you will need to block the creator of that List.

Click on the Profile of the List creator. Click on the More icon next to the share icon . Click Block next to the profile handle (@HANDLE). NOTE: To remove yourself from a List you will need to block the creator of that List.

If you block an account (temporarily or permanently), you’ll be removed from its lists. You can unblock the account by hovering over the “Blocked” button (which will then say “Unblock”).24-May-2021

– Click the Lists tab from the Navigation menu.
– Click the More icon next to the new List icon .
– Click on Lists you’re on.
– Click on the List you want to remove yourself from.

What does it mean when a user adds me to a Twitter List? If someone adds you to a Twitter list, that’s a good thing! It means that they are interested in finding your content amid the noise on Twitter.17-Mar-2016

Conclusion

Twitter lists are collections of Twitter users all following a similar topic. To be added to a list, your account has to follow the creator and they have to add you as part of their list. It’s easy to find out what lists you’re on with a few clicks using both desktop and mobile apps

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.