How to Soft Block Someone on Twitter
Twitter’s new Soft Block function allows users to block any follower without removing them. The tech giant previously stated that it was looking into a faster way to remove followers.
Twitter users can only use this feature to delete someone they don’t like.
Because blocking blocks someone’s ability to view your tweets and send you messages, this feature is different from blocking. This feature can be used in many ways.
Table of Contents
- Twitter Soft-Blocking:
- What does it mean to soft block someone on Twitter?
- What is the difference between a soft and a hard block on Twitter?
- Is it possible to be soft-blocked on Twitter
- What to do if someone soft blocks you on Twitter?
- What can you do to soft block all followers on Twitter?
Soft Blocking Twitter
To delete someone from your account,
- Get your Twitter app open
- Next, tap the “Followers” tab.
- Click the triangle icon to the right of your profile name.
- Next, select “Remove this Follower” from the drop-down menu.
Once you are done, the follower that you have just deleted will not receive an email notification. The person you have removed will no longer be able to view your profile or reply to your tweets. They can still message you directly and even send direct messages.
What does it mean to soft block someone on Twitter?
In the past, you could only remove followers by blocking them. A profile could not be viewed, tweeted, or sent directly messages if it was blocked.
For random strangers, this was the best choice. What if your friends aren’t interested in interacting with you content anymore? Soft blocks are a way to solve this problem.
Soft blocking means you’re not blocking the person from your profile. This means they can access it and view it. They can also interact directly with your tweets, if your account has a public status.
They will be removed from your follower list. Without providing notification, they will be deleted from your follower list.
What is the difference between a soft and a hard block on Twitter?
Basically, a ‘hard-block’ refers to a term that means ‘block’. Once someone has been completely blocked by you they will not be able view any of your tweets. They will not be informed that the user has been blocked.
If they are not logged in to Twitter, they can’t view your tweets. They will need to create a new account to be able to follow you.
People you don’t know well can be difficult to block. Blocking someone that is disrespectful or bothersome can cause them to become more annoyed or worse.
In the case of someone soft-blocking them on Twitter, follow the steps above but you will also need to unblock them.
Go to the profile of the individual, click on the three dots at the top right, choose Block and then go back to Unblock. However, Twitter now allows you to unfollow a person instead of blocking them.
However, the soft block strategy doesn’t prevent users from seeing all public tweets you have posted to your profile. If they notice they have stopped following you, they can re-follow you.
The new Twitter feature allows your Twitter followers to “soft block” you, if necessary. Follow the steps to remove you.
However, the app won’t notify you if someone deletes you. You will be able see the profile of that person.
What to do if someone soft blocks you on Twitter?
Is it a while since you last saw a Tweet from someone on your Homepage? Are you sure they are soft blocking you? You can then confirm if someone has removed you by simply checking whether you’re following them.
If they remove you or you don’t follow them, it is called soft blocking.
How do you soft block all followers on Twitter?
Twitter doesn’t have a way to soft-block all your followers at once, so it’s not possible for you to do this. You can soft-block your followers by following these steps:
- Log in to your Twitter account.
- In the sidebar, click on your profile.
- Click on the “Tap to increase your Follower count” button
- Click the dots next to their names to locate the followers you wish to delete.
- Click on Remove this Follower.
A soft block is different from a block because it allows a user to still see your tweets and direct message you, but they won’t see your tweets on your feed. That said, when you remove a follower, they can follow you again if they want.11-Oct-2021
Blocked accounts cannot: Find your Tweets in search when logged in on Twitter. Send Direct Messages to you. View your following or followers lists, likes or lists when logged in on Twitter.
Twitter rolled out the “soft block” for all web users on Monday. The feature lets you quietly remove your Twitter followers without resorting to blocking them.12-Oct-2021
Why Soft Block someone on Twitter. If you have someone that you are following or someone is following you but you wish to remove this person without notifying them, then Soft Block would come in handy in such cases. Blocking someone removes them as a follower as well as stops you from following them.
To soft block a follower, head to your profile, click followers, click the three-dot menu next to a follower, and then click the option “Remove this follower.” (You can see what that option looks like in an image from Twitter at the top of this post.) A follower you remove won’t be notified of the change.11-Oct-2021