How to Turn off Retweets From a Twitter Account You Follow

If you’re a regular user of Twitter, then you should be alert to the irritating retweets. These tweets fill your entire feed with irrelevant messages. Twitter’s retweet feature allows you to repost another person’s tweet from your profile.

We are constantly bombarded with retweets of people we follow, and our feed is filled with messages from other accounts. It can get quite frustrating to have to go through so many retweets you don’t like.

Now, there’s a way to solve this problem. users will be able turn off Twitter retweets, which means that you can see all tweets but not the retweets.

This helps to reduce unnecessary content in the feed. You can not disable retweets from all the accounts you follow simultaneously. Each profile will need to be disabled individually. This article will show you how to do this.

Table of Contents

  • How to turn off Twitter Retweets from Desktop
  • How to turn off Twitter Retweets from the mobile app
  • How to turn off your retweets?
  • FAQ’s

    • Is it possible to disable retweets
    • What can I do to turn off all retweets?
    • Is it possible to see what happens if you disable retweets
    • What happens when Twitter deletes retweets? This is what does it mean?
  • Conclusion


Turning off Twitter Retweets from Desktop

Let’s first look at how to turn off Twitter retweets while on a computer/laptop. It is very easy and only requires a few steps.

1. Use your browser to open Twitter. Then, login with your credentials.

2. Next, go to the profile of the person you would like to remove retweets.

3. You will find three to four buttons right next to the profile icon on their profile. To open the circle icon, click on three dots in it.

4. A drop-down menu appears, select the option that is marked’Turn Off Retweets’. This will close the window that allows you to see their retweets in your feed.


Turning off Twitter Retweets from the Mobile App

If you use Twitter via your smartphone’s mobile app, then here are the steps to turn off retweets from accounts that you follow. You’ll need to do this for each account you wish to disallow retweets.

It’s tedious, but it is worth it.

1. On your smartphone, open the Twitter app.

2. Open the profile page of your account to disable retweets.

3. For Android phones, scroll to the top-right corner and click the overflow or vertical-three dots icons.

Then, click on the ” Turn Off Retweets” button from the drop-down menu.

4. If you’re using an iOS phone, then click the gear-like icon that will be located right next to the profile icon.

Then, click on the “Turn Off Retweets” option in the menu.


How to turn off your retweets?

Many users reported that their account’s ‘turn off retweets option doesn’t work and they still receive retweets via their accounts.

This could indicate a problem with the application and should be addressed by uninstalling it and then reinstalling it. Then, repeat the steps again.

You can try rebooting your phone to check if it is having technical problems. Remember that disabling retweets for an account will not delete any pre-existing ones from your feed.

You will not see the retweets of their tweets in your feed.


FAQ’s


Is it possible to disable retweets

Users can deactivate retweets via Twitter. However, it is not possible to disable all retweets for every account they are following at the same time. You will need to disable each retweet from one account. To turn off retweets, you will need to select the “Turn Off Retweets” option.


What can I do to turn off all retweets?

Twitter doesn’t have a way to turn off all retweets in one click. There are some web extensions and commands you can use to do this, but that’s something you will have to discover for yourself.


Is it possible to see what happens if you disable retweets

You can turn off the retweets from an account. They will not be notified. The feed will not allow you to see their retweets and will not notify them of any retweets.


What happens when Twitter deletes retweets? This is what does it mean?

Twitter will immediately remove retweets of an account you have disabled from its timeline. You have turned off the retweets manually, which signifies that you don’t want to see their retweets in your feed. Twitter then removes them from your timeline.


Conclusion

This article will help you understand how to turn off the retweets from accounts you are following so you only see their original tweets.

As we have already mentioned, you can do the same thing on your laptop/desktop as on your mobile device.

A number of frequently-asked questions have been answered about retweets, and how one can disable them. This article was enjoyed by me and I trust you found it helpful.

Faqs

You can turn off Retweets for a specific account if you don’t like what they share. Select Turn off Retweets from an account profile page to stop seeing Tweets they’ve Retweeted (tap the gear icon on iOS or click or tap the overflow icon on web and Android).

It is not possible to turn off ALL Retweets from ALL accounts.

There is no way to filter from the web UI all retweets. What you will need to do is go to each profile you follow, then: Click the gear icon. Select Turn off Retweets.24-Jan-2014

There is no way to filter from the web UI all retweets. What you will need to do is go to each profile you follow, then: Click the gear icon. Select Turn off Retweets.24-Jan-2014

Tap the icon at the top of any Tweet, right from your Home timeline, to quickly access options like unfollow, mute, block, report, and more. Unfollowing is the simplest action you can take to stop seeing someone’s Tweets on your Home timeline.

Conclusion

If you’re a regular user of Twitter, then you should be alert to the irritating retweets. These tweets fill your entire feed with irrelevant messages. Twitter’s retweet feature allows you to repost another person’s tweet from your profile.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.